top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureGrace Johnson

Guest Post by Mary Alford: When You Can't See the Way


(EDIT: So, I had this post scheduled for July 13th. Seriously. But for some strange reason, it never posted, and it's just sat there in my scheduled posts section until I finally realized, four days later, that it never posted. Hence this post coming out on a Sunday night, nearly two weeks after my last post. I swanny, no matter what I do to try and post consistently on this blog, something always happens... Anyway, y'all enjoy this guest post!)


Mary Alford is back, everyone! And this time she's sharing all about her testimony/writing journey, plus a word of encouragement, with us that I am so excited for! I know you'll be inspired and blessed by her guest post today!

 

When You Don’t See The Way


While I have been writing professionally for almost ten years now, my writing journey began a long time before that. When I was 9 years old, Jesus saved me, and I began reading one of the most amazing books of all times. The Bible is filled with redemption, action adventure, suspense, and the greatest hero of all—Jesus.

Over the next 39 years ago, I met my husband and married him. He’s my biggest blessing and my greatest supporter.

In 2002, I realized that God had been calling me to write for him for some time. So, I prayed about it and then began reading every Christian suspense book I could find. The more I read, the more I fell in love with the genre and realized this was the genre God chose for me.

The journey wasn’t easy, and I didn’t just automatically get published. It took a lot of hard work on my part, as well as a lot of faith that God would see me through each obstacle along the way. And he did.

In the summer of 2012, I read about a contest that was being hosted by Love Inspired Suspense, which is Harlequin Books’ Inspirational line. I entered the contest thinking I wouldn’t get selected to pitch my book. . .but I did. I was so excited. Only I didn’t realize the pitch date was scheduled for when my husband and I were in the middle of the Rocky Mountains of Colorado with absolutely no internet at our cabin. For about half a second, I thought about giving up until I prayed, and God answered.

My husband and I drove to Pagosa Springs, Colorado where we found service. I sat in the parking lot of the Ace hardware store and gave my pitch online. The editor later requested my book and in December of 2012, I sold my first book to Love Inspired Suspense. Since then, I’ve written 12 books for them and have 4 more books scheduled for the coming years.

But God had many more blessings in store.

Two years ago, I submitted a proposal to Revell publishing and the book was contracted. And Among the Innocent was born.

It’s been an amazing journey, and I can’t wait to see where God leads me next. It wasn’t easy. It took 10 years before I signed my first contract. Yet through each rejection, and each discouraging moment when I thought about giving up, God was right there with me, reminding me that this was what He had in mind for me. And even though at times, I didn’t see the way to accomplishing His wishes, I just had to trust Him and through faith.

 

About the Book

When Leah Miller's entire Amish family was murdered ten years ago, the person believed responsible took his own life. Since then, Leah left the Amish and joined the police force. Now, after another Amish woman is found murdered with the same MO, it becomes clear that the wrong man may have been blamed for her family's deaths.

As Leah and the new police chief, Dalton Cooper, work long hours struggling to fit the pieces together in order to catch the killer, they can't help but grow closer. When secrets from both of their pasts begin to surface, an unexpected connection between them is revealed. But this is only the beginning. Could it be that the former police chief framed an innocent man to keep the biggest secret of all buried? And what will it mean for Leah--and Dalton--when the full truth comes to light?

USA Today bestselling author Mary Alford keeps you guessing as two determined souls plumb the dark depths of the past in order to forge a brighter future--together.


Among the Innocent released on June 7th, 2022. You can learn more about it on Amazon!

 

Meet the Author

USA Today Bestselling Author, Mary Alford, loves giving her readers the un-expected, whether it be in a rugged mountain setting or a peaceful Amish community.

Her titles have appeared on the USA Today Bestselling List, Publisher’s Weekly Bestselling List, and have been finalists in the Daphne Du Maurier award of excellence, The Beverly, The Maggie, and The Selah Awards.

Mary is very active online and would love to connect with readers on Facebook and Twitter or any social platforms listed at www.maryalford.net.

 
How have you seen God working in your life and guiding your writing? How do other authors' stories inspire you? Let us know in the comments below!

Yours in spirit and script,

Grace

Romans 1:16

24 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page