top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureGrace Johnson

Interview with Mary Alford


Y'all, when Mary Alford approached me several months ago about being featured on Book Nations, I was SO shocked pleased! Mrs. Alford is quickly becoming a household name in the Christian suspense genre, and it is an absolute honor to have her on! She graciously dealt with me and my inability to check my emails in a timely manner (I apologize to all those who have corresponded with me through my Book Nations email; I have the hardest time remembering to check it and two of my other less-used inboxes!), and has agreed to not only an interview but a lovely guest post next week!

Now, without further ado, our interview!

 

When did you first feel God calling you to write?

I was young when I felt the calling. I loved to read and felt the urge to try my hand at writing when I was a preteen. I actually wrote my first book then, but I didn’t really think about writing professionally until much later.


How has He guided you along the way?

It’s because of His guidance that I became a published author. In 2012, I entered a Christian suspense contest entitled Speed Dating, hosted by Love Inspired Suspense. The editor later bought my proposal, and my first Christian Suspense was published the following year.

What inspires you the most?

My husband has been wonderful throughout my career. He is always encouraging me through each new endeavor. He definitely inspires me. Most of my books take place in the mountains because I love the mountains and I feel God’s presence so much there. His beauty and majesty are displaced everywhere. It’s like attending the best worship service every day.

What is the hardest part of writing Christian fiction?

I’d say the hardest part is making sure God’s message is intertwined throughout the book. Each book has a message, and it is important for readers to see the hope each character finds that can only come from God.


Have you ever endured any discouragement for writing Christian fiction?

No, not really. Although I do realize some people who have never read Christian fiction may think it doesn’t tackle any serious issues. But that is far from the reality. There are Christian fiction authors who write about issues everyone faces in life and some topics such as drug addition, family issues, divorce and more. Many suspense authors write about human trafficking, serial killers and many more issues that might not be considered typical for Christian suspense.


What Christian books have impacted your life?

As a Christian suspense author, I tend to gravitate toward that genre. I am a huge fan of Lynette Eason’s books as well as Elizabeth Goddard and Dee Henderson.


What advice do you have for aspiring Christian writers?

Don’t give up. Keep writing and learning about your craft. Becoming a published author isn’t always easy. You will receive rejection—that’s just part of the process—but don’t let it get you down. Take the good pieces of advice you receive and let the rest go. Also, networking with other authors who write in your genre is very important. Reach out to them. You’d be amazed at how willing most authors are to help someone new to the craft.


Can you tell me a little bit about your newest novel, Among the Innocent, and what inspired it?

AMONG THE INNOCENT takes place in the Amish community of St. Ignatius, Montana, where Leah Miller lost her entire Amish family to a killer ten years earlier. Now Leah has left the Amish faith and has become a police officer. Leah is called out to search for a missing person which turns out to be the daughter of her former neighbor. The young woman is later found dead in the same barn where Leah lost her entire family with a note from the killer letting Leah know he’s back.

Leah and the new chief of police, Dalton Cooper are on a race against time to find out the identity of the killer before he kills again. And Leah soon learns Dalton has a connection to her family’s case that is a complete surprise, and it makes her question his motives.

 

Meet the Author

USA Today Bestselling Author, Mary Alford, loves giving her readers the un-expected, whether it be in a rugged mountain setting or a peaceful Amish community.

Her titles have appeared on the USA Today Bestselling List, Publisher’s Weekly Bestselling List, and have been finalists in the Daphne Du Maurier award of excellence, The Beverly, The Maggie, and The Selah Awards.

Mary is very active online and would love to connect with readers on Facebook and Twitter or any social platforms listed at www.maryalford.net.

 

I hope y'all enjoyed getting to know Mary as much as I did! I'm looking forward to reading her books, especially Among the Innocent! What an intriguing premise!

If you're interested in learning more about her and her work, don't forget to check out her website AND subscribe to her newsletter for a free ebook!

Thank you so much, Mary, for joining me today!


Yours in spirit and script,

Grace

Romans 1:16

30 views6 comments
bottom of page