top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureGrace Johnson

Interview with Vanessa Hall


When I first learned about up-and-coming Christian romantic suspense author Vanessa Hall (through her sister Kristina, believe it or not), I had no idea that I would be making a dear friend and embarking on an amazing adventure through her writing! Vanessa is so inspiring and talented, and I hope you'll take the time to get to know her today!

 

Vanessa Hall is an author, musician, and homeschool graduate. Most days, she is reading, writing, or practicing the violin—or trying to find time for all three pursuits. Currently, she is working toward gaining a degree in instrumental music education. Unknown is her debut novel. Above all, she is a sinner saved and held fast by the abounding grace of Jesus Christ.


 

When did you first feel God calling you to write?


I started writing when I was around ten or eleven years old, and at that point, I didn’t think of writing as a ministry or a calling at all. When I came back to writing when I was around seventeen, I can’t say I thought of writing as a calling then, either. But as I continued writing, it became more and more of a blessing to me. I learned so much through what my characters went through as I searched out Biblical answers to their problems, and I began seeing how the Lord can use stories for His honor and glory. By the time I began thinking about publishing (or when the Lord kind of shoved me into publishing), I truly began thinking of writing as a ministry, as something that can influence people and their lives by God’s grace. God gave me this gift of writing, and I’m not to hide it. I was very impacted by the parable of the talents in this regard - yeah, I might not have five talents like someone else, but even if I just have one, I must still use it in the Master’s service!


How has He guided you along the way?


Oh, wow, in so many ways. A big one is providing such a great encourager in my sister, Kristina Hall! If He hadn’t put her in my life, I probably wouldn’t have stuck with writing and pursued publishing. And He has used so many amazing writing friends in my life, both through their own books and stories and words of truth. And of course, Scripture is the constant guide. From the very beginning of my publishing career to just working out morals/themes in my books, I’m learning more and more to run to Him for everything.


What inspires you the most?


This is going to sound sappy, but I think it’s love. Let me clarify before everyone starts screaming. :) God’s love, and all that it entails, is the most beautiful thing I can think of. And in every book, I want God’s love displayed, both through my characters’ actions and the arc of the story. I love having characters who fail and fall so miserably, yet the love of God remains for them. I love showing the love of God through the other characters in the stories, whether that’s the characters’ boyfriend or girlfriend, their friends, their siblings, their parents, etc. I want to show that the love of God is greater than all things, and I want His glory to shine through everything I write.

What is the hardest part of writing Christian fiction?


That’s a hard one. Writing in general is very difficult, no matter what genre you’re attempting, but Christian fiction has its own challenges. Specifically, the one that stands out to me is presenting God’s truth faithfully. That’s always hard, given we are sinners and are so “prone to wander,” as the old hymn puts it. But it can be especially difficult when you write something, and while you didn’t mean to say something incorrect, a reader takes it wrongly because you weren’t clear enough or detailed enough. This is just another reason why we must lean not on our own strength, but God’s. Realizing how many people we could influence is terrifying, and only with the help of God can we do this faithfully.


Have you ever endured any discouragement for writing Christian fiction?


I’ve never had anyone outright attack me for writing Christian fiction, so I’m thankful for that! However, like any author, I have had some discouraging critiques. After pouring your heart and soul into a book, it can be a bit of a blow if someone talks badly about your supposed work of art. I’ve learned, though (and continue to learn), that I don’t write for anyone. I write for the Lord. If I’ve honored Him, that’s all I can do. Besides, there’s no way you can please everyone - ever - and that’s totally okay!


What Christian books have impacted your life?


The obvious answer would be the Bible, because that’s where truth comes from! But referring to books written by men, it would definitely be Charles Spurgeon’s works. I’ve read lots of his sermons, and they’re so full of power and truth as he set Jesus before our eyes. Highly recommend. I’ve also really been blessed by Martin Luther’s Commentary on Galatians - such a powerful book that reminds my very legalistic heart that Christ is the Author and Finisher of my salvation. Beyond that, some Puritans have also been impactful to me, such as John Bunyan, Richard Sibbes, and Horatius Bonar.


What advice do you have for aspiring Christian writers?


My biggest piece of advice is to pray and to depend on the Lord. In so many areas of my life, I try to do things in my own strength, and that’s just impossible. The Bible says, “Except the LORD build the house, they labour in vain that build it: except the LORD keep the city, the watchman waketh but in vain.” (Psalm 127:1).

Without God, we can do nothing - but in Him, we can do everything He’s called us to. Write for His glory and His alone, and trust Him with the results. It’s not up to you to change people’s lives - He will do it!


Can you tell me a little bit about your Grace Sufficient series and what inspired it?


Of course! It’s labeled under romantic suspense (though I like to think there’s more suspense than romance, but that just depends on the story), and each book follows the lives of different characters in a church plant in Moscow, Russia. It originally began as a standalone (with Unknown), but I just couldn’t leave these people behind. The books all tie together somewhat, but they’re pretty understandable as standalones. I was inspired by a lot of things - Russia, espionage, armwrestling, ballet, adoption, missions … you name it. I love the different relationships I get to explore - not just romantic relationships, but the deep Christian friendships between so many of the characters. At this point, it’s almost like going home to this series. I’m going to be lost writing outside of Russia!

 

I'm so thankful to have had the chance to interview Vanessa, get to know her, and read her books! I hope y'all have enjoyed this interview and that you'll give her Grace Sufficient series a try! Trust me, you won't regret it! You can connect with Vanessa and learn more about her work at her website here!


Yours in spirit and script,

Grace

Romans 1:16

19 views6 comments

6 Comments


Saraina
Saraina
Apr 20, 2022

LOVELY interview!!! :D That is so awesome that your sister Kristina's a writer too so you both have each other in your writing journeys! And amen, praying and depending on the Lord is so important. "... in Him, we can do everything He’s called us to." That's such a relieving truth!

Like
Grace Johnson
Grace Johnson
Apr 22, 2022
Replying to

Thank you!!! Yes, I LOVE how she put that!

Like

kristinahallauthor
Apr 20, 2022

Such a great interview!!!!

Like
Grace Johnson
Grace Johnson
Apr 22, 2022
Replying to

Thank you! :D

Like

Vanessa Hall
Vanessa Hall
Apr 20, 2022

Aww, Grace, thank you for interviewing me! It's been such a blessing - and an honor - to get to know you over the past year. 💜

Like
Grace Johnson
Grace Johnson
Apr 22, 2022
Replying to

It was my pleasure! Aww, it's been such a pleasure and privilege to get to know you and call you friend! <333

Like
bottom of page